Standing Committee on Screening

The role of the Standing Committee on Screening is to advise the Clinical Principal Committee (CPC) of the Australian Health Ministers Advisory Council (AHMAC) on national population based screening activities.

Page last updated: 28 October 2016

Terms of reference

  1. To provide advice on emerging population screening issues and other screening issues at the direction of the CPC.
  2. To oversee generic issues related to national screening programs, including, but not limited to, monitoring and evaluation, policy development, implementation, communication and recruitment strategies.
  3. To provide leadership and national direction on policy, implementation and monitoring of existing joint screening programs, BreastScreen Australia and the National Cervical Screening Program.
  4. To provide advice in relation to the National Bowel Cancer Screening Program.
  5. To make recommendations to CPC and AHMAC on screening programs in response to new evidence and expert technical advice.
  6. To provide a focus for consideration of Indigenous issues for national screening programs.
  7. To liaise and consult with the relevant experts on screening and refer appropriate issues for advice.


Standing Committee on Screening members represent state and territory government health departments.
Professor Brendan MurphyChair
Ms Alice CreelmanAssistant Secretary
Cancer and Palliative Care Branch
Department of Health
Dr Jan FizzellMedical Advisor
Office of the Chief Health Officer NSW
New South Wales Department of Health
Ms Heather MalcolmSenior Consultant
Clinical Support
Northern Territory Department of Health
Ms Julie PattersonDirector
Public Health Partnerships
South Australian Department for Health and Ageing
TBAVictoria TBA
Dr Kerryn ColemanPublic Health Physician
Australian Capital Territory Department of Health
Dr Jeanette YoungChief Medical Officer
Queensland Department of Health
Ms Gail WardState Manager
Cancer Screening and Control Services
Tasmanian Department of Health and Human Services
Professor Hugh DawkinsDirector
Office of Population Health Genomics
Western Australia Department of Health
Dr Jane O’Hallahan/Ms Astrid KoornneefGroup Manager
New Zealand National Screening Unit
Dr Bernie TowlerPrincipal Medical Adviser
Population Health Division
Department of Health
DirectorScreening Policy Section, Cancer and Palliative Care Branch
Department of Health